The official capital is Yamoussoukro; Abidjan is the administrative capital.

cote divoire dating sites list-2

Dependent on fishing and farming for their livelihood, they are not organized into centralized polities above the village level.

The southwest Kru peoples are probably the oldest of Côte d'Ivoire's present-day ethnic groups, the largest tribe of which is the Bete.

The largest group is the ethnic Baoule, who comprise over 23 percent of the population.

Other significant ethnic groups include the Bete (18 percent), Senufo (15 percent), and Malinke (11 percent).

The country changed its name to Côte d'Ivoire in 1985; its official name is the République de Côte d'Ivoire —a reflection of French control of the country from 1843 until independence.

Today, the nation's rich economy lies in juxtaposition to its turbulent political climate.

Language areas correspond closely to the four cultural regions of the nation.

Agni and Baoule, both Kwa languages, are the most widely spoken languages in the south.

Today, the sixty distinct ethnic groups that make up the Côte d'Ivoire are loosely grouped into four main cultural regions which are differentiated in terms of environment, economic activity, language, and overall cultural characteristics.

Most representatives of southeast cultures are Akan peoples, descendants of eighteenth-century migrants from the kingdom of Asante.

Whether Côte d'Ivoire will continue its rich history of socio-economic development amidst this unstable political climate remains uncertain as of late 2000. Côte d'Ivoire occupies approximately 124,500 square miles (322,460 square kilometers), an area slightly larger than New Mexico.